top of page

New Orleans Travel Guide + Tips

I recently traveled to New Orleans, Louisiana with some friends so I thought I'd share some tips from my experience and some fun places we went!

Breakfast:

Ruby Slipper on Canal St.-

This is a classic NOLA cafe with amazing breakfast and lunch. They have a delicious breakfast menu with a variety of healthy and not-so-healthy options! I had the Classic Pancake Breakfast with a side of fruit and it was to die for!! My friends also had chocolate chip and cinnamon pancakes which were super yummy! Their flavors are unique and are always changing, and the service was fantastic! I give this New Orleans breakfast place 5 out of 5 stars! Here is a link to their menu & a photo of what I had:

https://www.therubyslippercafe.net/menus/

Louie's Cafe-

Louie's Cafe is a small breakfast diner located on the LSU campus. With amazing service, a large menu, and incredible food this diner is sure to satisfy the whole family! I ordered chocolate chip pancakes and fruit, and I can easily say it was the best breakfast I've ever had. My whole group loved their meals as well, and the diner is very clean and super cute! I give this Tigertown cafe 5 out of 5 stars! Here is the menu:

http://www.louiescafe.org/menu.html

Dinner:

Superior Grill-

Superior Grill is a delicious Mexican grill located on St. Charles Ave. in New Orleans. We ate here during the Mardi Gras parades, and although they were incredibly crowded the service was amazing and the food came out pretty fast. I ordered chicken quesadillas and they were perfectly made and tasted fantastic! Everyone at our table was very happy with their food, and the dining experience was really enjoyable. This is a great place to eat dinner with the family when you're looking for a night out in NOLA or to go during the parades! Superior Grill gets a 4 out of 5 stars from me! Their menu is also below:

http://neworleans.superiorgrill.com/main-menu.html

Fun Things To Do In NOLA:

Walk around the French Quarter-

There's many boutiques, shops, cafes, street performers, photo opportunities, tours, and historic buildings. This is a great activity for all ages and for any time of the year!

Try Something New-

New Orleans is a wonderful place with non-stop fun, and it's a great place to step out of your comfort zone and try something new! There are street performers, fortune tellers, you name it pretty much around every corner. Mardi Gras is also an amazing time to go to NOLA and experience some true New Orleans fun! My friends and I got wigs from a little Mardi Gras boutique, and I conquered my fear of birds and took a photo with a giant parrot!

Mardi Gras-

Mardi Gras is a very popular Louisiana tradition of parades and celebrations all throughout January and February (2018). There are parades for the whole family and more adult-centered parades and festivities at night. This is really fun and I would definitely recommend going to Mardi Gras! Here is a helpful website with all of the information:

http://www.mardigrasneworleans.com/

Mardi Gras Tips-

- bring bags for beads and things you catch in the parades (you end up with A LOT of stuff!!)

-bring a rain jacket/coat in case the weather changes during a parade

-wear comfortable shoes and clothes (you do a lot of walking to the parades themselves and stand up for quite awhile) -jump up and down, wave your hands, and yell if you really want to catch something from one of the parade floats!

-have fun!!

Hotels:

We stayed in the JW Marriott in NOLA on Canal Street, the service was amazing and the rooms were very nice and clean. This is a great hotel because it's close to everything and you can walk pretty much anywhere. Here is the link to this great hotel: http://www.marriott.com/hotels/travel/msyjw-jw-marriott-new-orleans/

Thanks for reading my New Orleans Travel Guide! I hope it was helpful

and encouraged you to take a trip to NOLA:) If you have any questions or simply want to say hello, feel free to comment below!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Follow Me
  • YouTube Social  Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon
bottom of page